Skip to main content

Document Authorizing Justices of the Peace of Loudoun County,VA, to Administer Oaths, 1768 June 15

 File — Box: Manuscripts Oversize Box 12, Oversize Folder: 2
Identifier: id212953

Scope and Contents

Document signed by John Blair as President of the Council, authorizing the following Justices of the Peace of Loudoun County,VA, to administer oaths: Francis Lightfoot Lee, James Hamilton, Nicholas Minor, Josias Clapham, George West, Francis Peyton, John McElhaney [sic], [McIlhaney], James Lane, Craven Peyton, Philip Noland, William Carr Lane, Leven Powell, John Minor, WIlliam Douglass, Thomas Lewis, Simon Triplet, Stephen Donaldson, WIlliam Smith, George Summers, Fleming Patterson, Elijah Chinn. S.


  • Creation: 1768 June 15


Language of Materials

From the Collection:


Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.


From the Collection: 0.10 Linear Feet