Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799
Person
Found in 5 Collections and/or Records:
Blair Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68s B57
Scope and Contents
An artificial collections of papers concerning the Blair family of Williamsburg. Includes land grant, 1741, signed by James Blair (1655-1743); document, 1768, signed by John Blair (1689-1771) concerning Loudoun County, Va. justices of the peace; depositions, 1787 and n.d., of John Blair (1732-1800) concerning a lawsuit in the Superior Court of Chatham County, Ga. (Margaret Eustace vs. Seth John Cuthbert) which concerned the estate of his brother, James Blair (1741-1772); deposition, November...
Dates:
1741-1792
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Cabell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C12
Scope and Contents
Accounts, surveys and correspondence, chiefly 1743-1823, of members of the Cabell family of Albemarle and Amherst counties, Virginia.Includes accounts and land transactions, 1733-1754, of Dr. William Cabell (1699-1774) as well as letters written to him concerning medical treatment.Also includes accounts, surveys of Amherst County and correspondence with commission merchants of William Cabell (1730-1798); and surveyor's license and surveys of William Cabell (b....
Dates:
1693-1913; Majority of material found in 1743-1823
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Cole Collection of Documents Pertaining to the Colonial-Era
Collection
Identifier: MS 00196
Content Description
Documents, prints, and heraldry pertaining to Virginia governors from the 17th and 18th centuries. Includes letters and documents signed by John Murray, Robert Brooke, James Wood, Beverly Randolph, Patrick Henry, Edmund Andros, Jeffrey Amherst, Norborne Berkeley, Robert Hunter, Francis Fauquier, Earl De La Warr, James Blair, and Robert Dinwiddie among others. Also included in the collection are prints, coats of arms, and commemorative coins.
Dates:
1676-1971; Majority of material found within 1730-1770
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William and Thomas Dawson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst D32
Scope and Contents
Negative photostats of items from the correspondence of the Rev. William Dawson and the Rev. Thomas Dawson, both of whom were commissaries of the Church of England in Virginia and presidents of the College of William and Mary. Prominent correspondents include Patrick Henry, Samuel Davies, John Blair and Robert Dinwiddie.
Dates:
1721-1775
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Patrick Henry Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H41
Scope and Contents
Includes letters, 1778-1792, of Patrick Henry while living in Prince Edward County, Virginia and including letter, 28 May 1778, to Richard Henry Lee. Also includes copies of letters received by William Wirt from persons to whom he had written seeking biographical and anecdotal material concerning Henry (including one letter from George Wythe); prints and engravings of Henry; and an article concerning Patrick Henry's mother, Sarah Henry from the "Journal of American History".Mss....
Dates:
1778-1792, 1923-1927
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- College of William and Mary--History--18th century 2
- Correspondence 2
- Legal documents 2
- Virginia--Governors 2
- Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
- Account books 1
- Albemarle County (Va.) 1
- Amherst County (Va.) 1
- Church of England--Virginia--Clergy 1
- Church of England--Virginia--History--18th century 1
- College of William and Mary--History 1
- Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
- Freedmen--Virginia--History 1
- Goochland County (Va.) 1
- Goochland County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
- Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Henry, Patrick, 1783-1804 1
- Loudoun County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
- Medicine--Virginia--History--18th century 1
- Orders (military records) 1
- Photostats 1
- Slave labor 1
- Slavery--Virginia--18th century 1
- Slaves 1
- Surveying--Virginia--History 1
- Surveys (documents) 1
- Virginia--History--17th century 1
- Virginia--History--18th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 1 + ∧ less
∨ more