John Tyler, Jr., Tallahassee, Florida, to U.S. Grant, President [of the] United States, Washington City, D.C., 1873 July 9
Scope and Contents
He deprived a staunch supporter when he took away his office; the carpetbaggers in this state disliked him because he is a native Southerner; he understands the post collector at Key West is retiring - if true, he would like the appointment; Florida election frauds and Republicans who sold out to the Democrats. 16 pp. Cy of ALS. Including AN, [on the reverse of p.5], summarizing contents of a letter of 30 June 1873.
Dates
- Creation: 1873 July 9
Creator
- From the Collection: Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Rochelle, Marie Antoinette (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Shands, Letitia C. Tyler (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Shands, William B. (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tyler Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 13.75 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository