I. Argyle, "Bellesforest," Gooch(lan)d [Co., Va.], to "Dear Friend" [Mrs. John Tyler, Jr.?], 1856 March 15
Scope and Contents
Asks her to ask her daughters to write for her; hopes to make their children better friends; thanks her for handkerchiefs and Japanese writing, wants to find out more about the Japanese; country air good for nervous diseases; had to teach for five years because of financial situation; encloses music composed by her friend Mr. Bolling. 3pp. ALS.
Dates
- Creation: 1856 March 15
Creator
- From the Collection: Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Rochelle, Marie Antoinette (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Shands, Letitia C. Tyler (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Shands, William B. (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tyler Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 13.75 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository