Letter, 1901 May 11
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
W. F. Clayton, Florence, S.C. to Mattie R[ochelle] Tyler, Courtland, VA Clayton knows she has the papers of James H. Rochelle and asks that she send him any official papers from the Confederate Navy so that he might send them along to the Navy Dept. in Washington. The government is publishing information about both the Union and Confederate Navies and he wants them to have as much information as possible and for J. H. Rochelle’s papers to receive the attention they deserve. He is still waiting for the manuscript on Rochelle and John R. Tucker. [2 sheets] Envelope included.
Dates
- Creation: 1901 May 11
Creator
- From the Collection: Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Rochelle, Marie Antoinette (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Shands, Letitia C. Tyler (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Shands, William B. (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tyler Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 13.75 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository