Thomas Tudor Tucker (1745-1828) at Washington, D.C. to St. George Tucker,, 1826 July 17
Scope and Contents
Felt for fatigues of St. George’s and sister’s journey. Hopes Austin’s remedy will afford him relief. Suggests consulting surgeon. Uneasy lest despondency of sister (Elizabeth Tucker) produced by shocking scene she witnessed by protracted. Thanks for aid in codicil to own will. Encloses letter from niece (Mrs. Jane (Boswell) Tucker ?) Election of Henry St. George Tucker as director in East India Company. Seems consummation of her wishes. It appears of more importance than election of president here Mrs. Sarah (Dashiell) Stone and sister Margaret Dashiell here. – Both suffered with sickness, particularly latter.Sends regards to Mrs. Mary Walker (Carter) Cabell and Joseph Cabell. Sent St. George’s letter to Nathaniel] Beverley Tucker by first mail. Requests St. George to send letters freely and self will forward them with pleasure.
Dates
- Creation: 1826 July 17
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository