Thomas Tudor Tucker (1745-1828), Washington, D.C. to St. George Tucker, 1826 June 9
Scope and Contents
Apprehend St. George’s silence occasioned by sickness unless stopped for visit on way from Norfolk. Grieved at his sufferings and those of sister (Mrs. Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker). Thought Austin’s remedy afforded relief from piles. Extract from Richard J. Tucker’s letter distressing. Cannot think of event (death of Fanny due to lightning strike?) without shuddering. Fears sister’s (Elizabeth Tucker) latter days to be embittered by it. Will attend to St. George’s observations respecting own will. On coming here paid old debts in few years. Does not owe $100 except to St. George. Wishes to make new will or codicil to exonerate executors from giving security. Requests St. George to send form of codicil. Concern that Doctor Philip Barraud not as well as could wish. Also that his daughter’s (Mrs. Lelia ((Barraud) Baker ?) health impaired. Mrs. Sarah (Dashiell) Stone and Miss Margaret Dashiell arrived here few days ago. They saw Doctor Barraud.
Dates
- Creation: 1826 June 9
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository