Henry St. George Tucker, Winchester, to St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, 1825 December 17
Scope and Contents
Regrets death of father's sister (Elizabeth Tucker, Bermuda ?) and of Charles Carter. Recently passed Charles at Fredericksburg but did not know it. Has not seen him since Polly's marriage. Agrees with father in not changing situations but worries lest his school should stop. Received $850 in fees from students last year. Assented to being nominated for senator on condition that brother did not run. Supporters did withdraw him when he had the highest vote. They are on same good term as last summer. Beverley has had a salivation and pulled some of his teeth with his fingers. Son Henry Tudor does well and wife improves. Ann went to wedding of her cousin, Miss Moss. Dr. Magill's addresses were fruitless but Anne's conduct received approbation. Judge Brown who has been staying with them, will deliver this letter.
Dates
- Creation: 1825 December 17
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository