Thomas Tudor Tucker, Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, 1822 March 2
Scope and Contents
Rejoices that he finds self better of long painful complaints. Col. Taylor had given same account. Gives self concern that dear sister (Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker) often under complaints. Present love to her and excellent daughter (Mrs. Mary Walker Carter Cabell). Wishes happiness upon worthy John Coalter, daughter (Elizabeth Tucker) and son (St. George Coalter). Remembrances to dear Henry St. George Tucker, his wife (Anne Evelina (Hunter) Tucker) and to Nathaniel Beverley Tucker and (Mary Coalter Tucker?) when he writes. Friend George Tucker perused St. George's and sister's letters. Says he wrote lately to his sister Betsy. Has nothing to add respecting her son. Called lately at William Wirt's. He and Mrs. Elziabeth Washington (Gamble) Wirt taking ride. Hears in consequence of William Pinkney's death Wirt has thoughts of going to Baltimore.
Dates
- Creation: 1822 March 2
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository