Indenture between Edward Shoppard and James Shoppard and John Arthur, Yorkshire County, England, November 4, 1698
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents English on vellum. Indenture between Edward Shoppard, son and heir of Richard Shoppard, of Doncaster?, Yorkshire County, and James Shoppard of Hinningcoy?, Notthinghamshire County and John Arthur of Doncaster? Cottage leased for a year by Edward Shoppard for five shillings paid by James Shoppard and John Arthur. Several other individuals named identifying adjoining lands including John Mogson?, John Trott?, Nicholas Bosvile, and William Walker. Signed and sealed by Edward Shoppard. Witnessed and signed by Gregory Gall, Winifred Whitaker, John Arthur June. Two, six pence tax stamps affixed to document. Dates to November 4, 1698 during the reign of William III, King of England, Scotland, and Ireland (r.1689-1702). Includes separate typed twentieth century note on William III.
Dates
- Creation: November 4, 1698
Creator
- From the Collection: Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 (Person)
- From the Collection: William III, King of England, 1650-1702 (Person)
Language of Materials
English French Latin
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.80 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository