Thomas Tudor Tucker, Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, 1815 August 2
Scope and Contents
Letter of sister Elizabeth Tucker acceptable. Shudders at thought of what suffered by other sister (Mrs. Frances Tucker Tucker). Concern at own and St. George's inability to promote interest of nephew (Richard J. Tucker). Delights at health of Lelia Skipwith Carter Tucker., her daughter Mrs. Mary Walker Carter Cabell and Joseph Cabell. Happy no new affliction attended sister (Mrs. Jane Tucker). Sure St. George transcended convenience in helping her. War exposed own concerns to loss but not total one. Sent sister Jane bill for £100. For fear of accident sent duplicate. Also another £100. This with St. George's and nephew's (Henry Tucker ? of Calcutta) liberality will help sister through year. Hopes to supply her £200 a year extended by £50 or £60 if James' (J. Tucker) education requires. St. George suffered much by war. Has family and his bounties extended to rest of friends. Requests not to incommode himself by increase of liberality. MIsses Sarah and Margaret Dashiell and one of brothers to visit Mrs. Anne Evelina Hunter Tucker at Winchester. Self will accompany. Hopes Henry St. George Tucker family well. Trusts Henry's second visit to Bedfore beneficial. President and Mrs. Madison and James Monroe ? gone to Virginia. James Alexander Dallas to Philadelphia. they sent St. George best respects. Mr. and Mrs. M. expressed pleasure at St. George's little pieces. Former thought representation of it during war might have been useful. Self improved.. August 4, 1815. Letter from sister Jane informed of severe illness of both daughters. They seem on recovery. Crawford arrived but tells nothing new. Bayard arrived with him at Wilmington in low state. Henry Clay and Albert Gallatin in London for negotiating treaty of commerce. Enclosure not present.
Dates
- Creation: 1815 August 2
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository