Thomas Tudor Tucker (1745-1828), Washington, D.C. to St. George Tucker, 1810 October 9
Scope and Contents
Received his favors from Warminster and Richmond. Concern at observation St. George makes on change in recollections. No indication of failure of his other faculties. Little disposed to risk property of confidence in legislative stability or justice. Should realize property St. George mentions in money at advance it bears. Several years ago bought 20 shares in Philadelphia Insurance Co. at $110 each. Transferred it to E. and J. Perot subject to sister's (Elizabeth Tucker) order. Shares risen to $182. In like manner transfered 30 shares of same stock for sister Fanny (Mrs. Frances (Tucker) Tucker). Dividend of 10% for 6 months past. Delaware Insurance Co. paid no dividend for past 3 years and stock 38 under par. However own circumstances greatly improved by such purchases. Advises like procedure with proceeds of St. George's property. Established companies might be injured by sudden war with Britain but had warnings. Best established companies are Philadelphia and Pennsylvania. Latter quoted at 74% advance and has been above 100 advance. Concern at suffering of sister (Mrs. Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker) and Fanny (Mrs. Anne Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter). Letter from sister Mrs. Jane Tucker. She thanks for St. George's letter and bill.
Dates
- Creation: 1810 October 9
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository