Mrs. A. F. B. (T.) Coalter, Elm Grove near Staunton, Virginia to St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, Virginia, 1803 December 16
Scope and Contents
Supposes Tucker will have made excursion to Norfolk and be occupied in business of lecturing before this reaches Williamsburg. Delays in consequences of inattention in postmaster’s. Nathaniel Beverley Tucker of late looked his feelings but Polly (Mary Coalter) so displeased thinks he must soon change his way of thinking. John Coalter got him cost of mixed cloth at 25/ a yard. Husband will go to Rockingham and Amherst on business of father’s estate. Maria Ward wrote Beverley but desired letter seen by no other eye. Major Bailey in Staunton procuring certificates of good character. Poor wretch must be as destitute of sense as rectitude. Asks if true that Patsy Skipwith to be married and to whom. Mentions Mama (Mrs. Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker), mother (Mrs. Frances Davenport), Poll (Mary Walker Carter), Henry (St. George Tucker), Charles (Carter), General Brown, Aunto Banister, Mrs. Ambler and P. B. Postmarked Richmond, Virginia
Dates
- Creation: 1803 December 16
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository