Thomas Tudor Tucker (1745-1828), Washington, D. C. to St. George Tucker, 1803 October 31
Scope and Contents
Was uneasy lest St. George’s late indisposition had not admitted of attendance at Haymarket Court. Cannot find account of storming of redoubts at Yorktown. Thinks it was written to disprove insinuation that General Washington ordered commanding officer to put every man to sword. Also that credit of not executing order due to General LaFayette. Also thinks letter with signature of Colonel Alexander Hamilton denied order was given. Own opinion of St. George’s poem. Believes he will run no risk in its publication. Feels incompetent to judge St. George’s figurative style. Received 20 copies of St. George’s pamphlet on Louisiana. Shall send one to Henry St. George Tucker. John Randolph in same house with self. Thinks Smith will print poem. Observes St. George’s Blackstone advertised. Remembrances to sister (Mrs. Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker), Polly (Mary Walker Carter) and boys. J. R. received letter from Fanny (Mrs. Anne Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter) who was well.
Dates
- Creation: 1803 October 31
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository