Thomas Tudor Tucker (1745-1828), New York to St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, Virginia, 1801 November 7
Scope and Contents
Before left Philadelphia acknowledged receipt of St. George’s favor from Alexandria. Addressed letter to him at Winchester. Colonel Griffin informed that St. George indisposed on arrival in Williamsburg. Also that St. George’s colleague Judge Parker had been ill at his house. Trusts shall receive accounts of health of sister (Mrs. Lelia (Skipwith) Carter Tucker), niece (Anne Frances Bland Tucker) and rest of family. Arrived her month ago with intention of embarking for Charleston. Account of acceptance of office of Treasurer of United States offered by Thomas Jefferson. Office to be vacated by resignation of Samuel Meredith. John ? Page at own request wrote Jefferson on subject of nominating self to office. Page also wrote James Madison. Could not impose task of asking favor on St. George or John Randolph. Thought Page on such footing of intimacy with Jefferson that could express sentiments. No apprehension of being rejected by senate. Richard J. Tucker tells self friends in Bermuda well.
Dates
- Creation: 1801 November 7
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository