Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker (1752-1788) to St. George Tucker, circa 1787 April
Scope and Contents
Wrote by Major Jones. Has letters from boys, Colonel C. and Mr. Witherspoon (Princeton). Theodorick Randolph has ague still. Describes children. Maria (Rind) Coalter has been choked by high health but freed by walking. She would fulfill B. Starke's method of a working and sleeping wife. Mr. N. must have invited St. George as he would not intrude. Sorry St. George will not be home if his lady friend visits her. Defend her from a female tête-è-tête without particular intimacy. Self nearly fell sacrifice to metaphysics and company? last year. Mr. Frazer sent servant with St. George's letter. Wrote to Mr. Rose for £50. Promised to pay but did not say when. Asks if Mr. Baker will keep his liberty. Has neither pen nor knife to make one. May prevent her from writing. If Richard Randolph leaves Williamsburg, could not his things be brought up with Colonel Innes's things?
Dates
- Creation: circa 1787 April
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository