Doctor Thomas Tudor Tucker, Charleston, South Carolina to St. George Tucker, 1785 October 1
Scope and Contents
At present not possible for him to meet St. George in Bermuda. Season when his presence most necessary here. Has not paid farthing even to barber for fourteen months. Medical advice in connection with St. George's hoarseness and other indispositions. Hopes straitness across breast effect of narrowing chest by attitude of writing. Asks if Richard Randolph and Theodorick Bland Randolph with him Presumes John Randolph of Roanoke is with him. Requests remembering him to them, Fan (Anne Frances Bland Tucker), little boys (Henry St. George, Theodorick Tudor, and Nathaniel Beverley Tucker), sister (Mrs. Frances (Bland) Randolph Tucker), brother (Henry Tucker) and sisters (Elizabeth Tucker and Mrs. Frances (Tucker) Tucker). Asks where St. George Tucker Jr. is. Happy his Nancy Tucker pays attention to uncle and aunt. Hal (Henry Tucker) has something of his uncle St. George about him. Would make him happy if St. George could have sister (Polly Evans) and children (Nancy and Henry Tucker) in Bermuda. By this means could see him there.
Dates
- Creation: 1785 October 1
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository