Nathaniel Tucker, London to St. George Tucker, Petersburg, Virginia per Nicholson, 1778 November 3
Scope and Contents
His letter by Dispatch arrived. Thanks for offer of his property for own use. Cannot foresee whether will ever arrive at independence. Congratulates St.George that he is likely to attain it. Pleasure at his prospect of agreeable connection (marriage with Mrs. Frances (Bland) Randolph). Offers newly acquired sister regards. Self graduated at Leyden last year. Made tour of Holland, Flanders, and part of France. In pursuit of medical knowledge here. As practice of physic easy and lucrative here, has thoughts of settling in England. Proposes attending College of Edinburgh this winter and going to Bermuda in spring. Asks what St. George thinks self might do in Virginia.
Dates
- Creation: 1778 November 3
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository