St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Charlestown, South Carolina to Messrs. Tucker and Jennings, 1777 March 24
Scope and Contents
I left Virginia and came here to invest the proceeds of the cargo on the Dispatch in indigo to be remitted to St. Eustatia, but the indigo had risen in value and the value of it in St. Eustatia was very low. Under these circumstances Mr. Blake informed me that tobacco was the only article of American produce that bore a price either in the West Indies or Europe. After many different expedients, we concluded to purchase a prize Brig jointly and load her with salt for Virginia and invest the proceeds in tobacco for Europe or the West Indies.
Dates
- Creation: 1777 March 24
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository