Elizabeth Tucker (1747-), Bermuda to St. George Tucker, 1774 January 29
Scope and Contents
I know a packet or two of your letters must be lying in some obscure corner of Dr. Campbell's Shop for we have not heard from you. Easy in his circumstance and happy in his family what could have induced Mr. Gilchrist to such an act. We have heard from our brothers in Carolina. Natty (Nathaniel Tucker) has sent us a copy of the "Birth of Lothario." He has determined to have Bermudian printed in Scotland as well as Virginia. Mr. Tucker of Schrogham's Point has desired to subscribe for a hundred copies. He thinks Natty's name should not appear on the first publication. What has become of your Eliza? Mr. Jones was a suitor of Miss Tucker. Your cousin Fanny Hinson favoured Mr. Bascome with her hand.
Dates
- Creation: 1774 January 29
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository