Nathaniel Tucker, Charleston, South Carolina to St. George Tucker, Williamsburg, Virginia, 1773 February 5
Scope and Contents
Watson's return furnishes opportunity of writing. Encloses little performances (poems). Accounts of Bermudian, "Epistle to Eleazer", "Hermit" and "Vision." Does not send him satire on government because of its unfinished state. Requests him to thank Henley for correcting Bermudian and prefixing sonnet to it. Approbation of Virginia literati pleasing. It is misfortune not to be intimate with any in province in which he resides. Brother (Thomas Tudor Tucker) far from being in condition to support self in Edinburgh. Desires means of procuring bread and a few friends to whom poverty would not be reproach. Then might cultivate muses undisturbed by glare of superior splendor. Identical Washington who shipped with St. George to New York popped in other day. Con Hinson arrived from West Indies. Charleston overrun by Bermudians. Believes poverty will oblige all to emigrate from Bermuda. Fanny (Mrs. Frances (Tucker) Tucker) had fever. Daniel Tucker and cousin Betty George married just before Christmas. Everybody starving in Bermuda. Has father's (Colonel Henry Tucker) money to purchase corn for his family Much pleased with Watson. Sorry circumstances would not permit them to treat him more elegantly. Jones the lawyer refused admittance at bar here. Visited Governor Wright who just arrived from England where created baronet. Must endeavor by proficiency in healing art to cure diseases of others and own poverty. Repeats request for St. George to write via Providence which has frequent communication with this place.
Dates
- Creation: 1773 February 5
Creator
- From the Collection: Tucker-Coleman Family (Collector, Family)
- From the Collection: Coalter, John, 1769-1838 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Randolph, John, 1773-1833 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 (Collector, Person)
- From the Collection: Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 (Collector, Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Before publishing quotations or excerpts from any materials, permission must be obtained from the Manuscripts and Rare Books Librarian, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 124.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository