Margaret Maury, Whitworth, England, to her son, William Maury, New Orleans, Louisiana, 1820 November 8
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Is back at Whitworth so she can recover as much as possible; Mr. Maury was very glad to see her at home; her trip back; the surprise she gave everyone and their happiness at seeing her; Dr. James was the one who came up with the idea that Rutson informed of her return; will not prevent him from living in Richmond; the trip to Buxton; saw Mr. and Mrs. Galt and Miss Gotts there; Ann Gott is to be married to Mr. William Maitland, a friend of William Gott [her brother?]; description of Mr. Maitland; Ann asked after "Willy" [William Maury]; tells him not to be upset about Miss Gott or what happened with Miss Lewis; ordered his coat, which will be sent by the Canton; a girl from West India she was looking after will go home tomorrow; news of friends; instruction to take care of his health. 4pp. ALS Including Ts of ALS, 1p.
Dates
- Creation: 1820 November 8
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository