James Maury, Liverpool, England, to his son, William Maury, New York, New York, 1820 July 20
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Is happy with William's work; will talk to Maury and L[atham] about writing to people in Ireland; is worried that the shipments on the Glide will arrive too early in the season; tobacco prices; now have a bookkeeper and an apprentice in the "Upper House"; consignments; thanks Mr. Galt for his help with the information about the land; is too busy with regular work to write to all of Maury and Latham's correspondents as he wishes him to do; thanks Mr. Madison for the consignments he plans to make; has gotten tob[acc]o from him and Mr. Washington before; and could have sold it for a lot more if he had kept it longer; has met Governor Gore of Boston's neice; hopes William will meet Mr. Gore at some point; more news of family and friends. 4pp. LS
Dates
- Creation: 1820 July 20
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository