James Maury, Liverpool, England , to his son, William Maury, New York, New York, 1820 March 1
Scope and Contents
General Vives and two of his officers dined with him yesterday; told him that William would meet him while he was in Washington; have heard from an aquantiance of Mr. Veale that there was a judgement against him; Mr. Grant's balance; young Jonston's debt; FF has not given enough money to pay them; has begun writing to correspondents as he suggested; 3rd March, has just left General Vivies; told him about William being in the United States; has sent a leffter to Col[onel] Aspinwall informing him of the invoice regulations and asking him to conform with them. 2 pp. ALS
Dates
- Creation: 1820 March 1
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository