Margaret Maury, Liverpool, England, to her son, Matthew Maury, New York, New York, 1819 July 2
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Friends came to dine; she and Mr. Maury are alone as James is still in Whitworth and Ann has gone to Segwick; Ann was excited about her trip; she and Ann are looking forward to his return home; asks if he intends to settle in Virginia, as Mr. Gwathmey said; a visit from Colonel Harden [?] and his family from Savanna[h], Georgia; visits from ther friends; news of Prudence; the weather; news of friends; Mr. and Mrs. King asked Mr. and Mrs. Maury to be sponsors fro their son; William's strawberry plants; letters from Rutson and William. 4 pp. ALS Bears ANS from Margaret Maury, Liverpool, England, to her son, [Matthew Maury], New York, New York 3 Jult [1819] She forgot to give the letter to Mr. Maury to mail; letters for Ann arrived.
Dates
- Creation: 1819 July 2
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository