James Maury, Liverpool, England, to her daughter, Anne Maury, Mill's Cottage, Sidmouth, Devonshire, England, 1817 April 28
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents
Replies to all the letters she has sent him; Mr. Bigland sent the day's paper to Mrs. Maury containing the story about Mr. Fitzsimmon's speech; the cow had a calf; called on Mrs. Gladstone; William dined at Alleton yesterday; news of frieds; wrote to his son, James, and brother, Fontaine; Rutson returned yesterday; began bathing again this morning; gave William the stone she sent as a present; asked her to try to find something to bring to Rutson; news of friends; anxious to hear of the arrival of "the Boy of mine"; instructs her to take cooking lessons from Prudence. 3pp. ALS Including T's of ALS, 1p.
Dates
- Creation: 1817 April 28
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository