Abbe Jean Siffrein Maury, Paris, France, to "Monsieur," James Maury, 1777 September 8
Scope and Contents
Was pleased to receive his letter; from what he wrote, it seems that they may belong to the same family; will tell him what he knows of his own family; history of his grandfather and father; details about his father's brothers; since his grandfather was sent away from home when he was young they do not know much about the rest of their relatives; his family has only its good values to stand on; would be happy to learn that they are related to each other. [Letter written in French][Copy by Anne Maury] 3pp. Cy of ALS
Dates
- Creation: 1777 September 8
Creator
- From the Collection: Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 6.31 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository