Box 5, Folder 30: Correspondence and other materials relating to various issues in Virginia's system of higher education.
Scope and Contents
27 items. Including Bateman's 1971 resolution for investigation of visitation policies and "preservation of moral values" at Virginia colleges, 1978 consideration of increase in tuition assistance grants, summary of legislation and appropriation in 1978 General Assembly affecting higher education, and 1982 correspondence between Attorney General Gerald Baliles and officials of George Mason University and 1982 addresses on education by Governor Charles Robb. See also Senate Joint Resolution 24 (S.J.Res. 24), series 175; and William and Mary, the College of (W&M), series 232.
Dates
- Creation: 1971-1982
Creator
- From the Collection: Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 (Person)
- From the Collection: Dalton, John N. (Person)
- From the Collection: Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 (Person)
- From the Collection: Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- (Person)
- From the Collection: Robb, Charles S. (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 19.00 Linear Feet (22 boxes.)
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository