Letter, circa 1695 January 9
Scope and Contents
9 January, 1695/6. Privy Council, Whitehall, to William, Duke of Devonshire, Lord Lieutenant and Custos Rotularum of the County of Derby, Derbyshire. Directs Devonshire to issue warrants to the Constables, tithingmen, heads of boroughs, ets., ordering them to impress able bodied seamen for his majesty's service. Signed by [Thomas Herbert, earl of] Pembroke; [Meinhard Scholburg, duke of] Schomburg & Leinster; J[ohn, earl of] Bridgewater, [Frances Newport, earl of] Bradford, [Thomas Grey, earl of] Stamford, [William Bentnck, earl of] Portland, [Henry Sidney, earl of] Romney. 2 pp. DS.
Dates
- Creation: circa 1695 January 9
Creator
- From the Collection: Mary II, Queen of England, 1662-1694 (Person)
- From the Collection: Pullen, Louise Rowe (Person)
- From the Collection: William III, King of England, 1650-1702 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 3.50 Linear Feet
Language
From the Collection: English
From the Collection: French
From the Collection: Dutch; Flemish
From the Collection: Latin
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository