News Clippings, 1984
Scope and Contents
Contains news clippings related to the William and Mary President; William and Mary President-designate; Paul R. Verkuil; minority education; desegregation and integration; affirmative action; minority recruitment; Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS); student career prospects; fire; obituaries; Jefferson Hall; Jefferson Hall fire; Commonwealth Inn; William B. Spong, Jr.; fire safety; fire alarms; Thomas A. Graves; liberal arts; peace forums; municipal service charge; humanities; curriculum; other colleges and universities; School of Business Administration; athletics; tourism; faculty; students; Gerald Johnson; Charles S. Robb; Governor; gifts and bequests; Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility; security; Thomas Ashley Graves, Jr. Award of Sustained Excellence in Teaching; Phi Beta Kappa; academic scholarships; service fellowships; Beales scholarship; Yule Log; joint degree programs; academic programs; Richard J. Davis; elections; campaigns; John Barlow; student housing; Govenor's Square; Muscarelle Museum of Art; George R. Healy; computer science; suicide; Council of Higher Education; Presidential Search Committee; acting President; and Reserve Officers Training Corps (ROTC).
Dates
- Creation: 1984
Creator
- From the Collection: Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr., 1924- (Person)
- From the Collection: Chandler, Alvin Duke, 1902-1987 (Person)
- From the Collection: Office of the President (Organization)
- From the Collection: Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Accessions may require permission from the originating office or the staff of the University Archives because they contain personnel, student, or other records covered by privacy laws and regulations including the following accessions: 1978.001, 1979.084, 1980.116, 1981.084, 1982.059, 1983.059, 1984.042, 1985.035, 1986.024, and 1987.077.
Acc. 1985.036 is closed until 2060.
Acc. 1999.011 is confidential.
Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 221.50 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository