Papers, 1706-1858
Scope and Contents
Item 1: Ann Mason, [Stafford Co., Va.], to Haswell and Hunt, London, [England], Ca. 1743
Cy. of L. 1p.
Item 2: Ann Mason, [Stafford Co., Va.], to John Thomson, London, [England], Ca. 1743
Cy. of L. 1p.
Item 3: G[eorge] Mason, "Gunston Hall," [Farifax Co., Va.], to Richard Henry Lee, n.p., April 12, 1779
ALS. 4pp. Including Tcy. of ALS. 2 items.
Item 4: Will[ia]m Fitzhugh, Calvert County, [Md.], to William Bruff, n.p., May 13, 1781
ALS. 1p.
Item 5: G[eorge] Mason, "Gunston Hall," [Fairfax Co.], Virginia, to his son John Mason, Bordeaux, [France], May 14, 1789
ALS. 7pp. Including TCy of ALS. 2 items.
Item 6: Ste[ven]s Thom[son] Mason, Loudoun County, [Va.], to Robert Carter, "Nominy [sic] Hall," [Westmoreland Co., Va.], February 26, 1791
ALS. 2pp.
Item 7: G[eorge] Mason, "Gunston Hall," [Farifax Co.], Virginia, to his son John Mason, Bordeaux, [France], April 16, 1791
Including TCy of ALS and XCy of ALS. 3 items.
Item 8: G[eorge] Mason, "Gunston Hall," [Fairfax Co., Va.], to his son John Mason, George Town, Maryland, August 20, 1792
ALS. 5pp. Including TCy of ALS. 2 items.
Item 9: Ste[ven]s Thom[son] Mason and Wilson C. Nicholas, Phil[adelphi]a, [Pa.], to James Monroe, Richmond, [Va.], April 29, 1800
Cy of LS. 2pp.
Item 10: Ste[ven]s Thom[son] Mason, Phil[adelphi]a, [Pa.], to James Monroe, n.p., May 15, 1800
Cy of LS. 1p.
Item 11: Tho[ma]s Randolph, Richmond, [Va.], to "Betsey," E[lizabeth] Moir, W[illia]msburg, [Va.], February 25, 1807
ALS. 3pp.
Item 12: Moncure, Robinson, and Pleasants, Richmond, [Va.], to John T. Mason, Jr., Lexington, Kentucky, February 15, 1820
ALS. 3pp. Including an ANS from J[ohn] T. Mason, n.d., n.p.
Item 13: Ann C. Mason, "Temple Hall," to Elizabeth Moir, Lexington, Kentucky, October 20, 1821
ALS. 4pp.
Item 14: M[?] Mason, Raspberry Plain, to her son John Thomson Mason, Indian Fields, near Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, May 31, 1823
ALS. 2pp.
Item 15: Jo[h]n Thomson Mason, Baltimore, [Md.], to Charles Lanman, n.p., June 7, 1858
Biographical information concerning Thomas Mason, Stevens Thomson Mason, and Armistead Thomson Mason for Lanman's directory of U.S. Congressmen. ALS. 2pp. Puchased from Maury Bromsen.
Item 16: N. Carroll Mason, n.p. to Judge [John Thomson] Mason, n.p., June 16, 1858
Biographical information concerning Stevens Thomson Mason and Armistead T. Mason. ALS. 1p.
Including Sen. James Murray Mason's (George Mason's grandson) response to Charles Lanman's request for information concerning George Mason. Purchased from Maury Bromsen
Item 17: Jo[h]n Thomson Mason, Baltimore, [Md.], to Charles Lanman, n.p., June 22, 1858
Biographical information concerning Thomas Mason, Stevens Thomson Mason, and Armistead Thomson Mason for Lanman's directory of U.S. Congressmen. ALS. 3pp. Purchased from Maury Bromsen.
Item 18: Will of Mary Thomson, March 21, 1706
D. 3pp.
Item 19 Will of William Thomson, November 23, 1739
D. 4pp.
Item 20: Bill of loading for tobacco shipped by Stevens Thomson Mason upon the ship Glory, August 1, 1785. 1p.
Item 21: Political essay by G[eorge] M[ason] concerning the right of suffrage and the disposition of the county of Fairfax in the re-districting of Virginia for the election of congressmen, Ca. 1790 AMsS. 3pp.
Item 22: Will of Stevens Thomson Mason, April 22, 1803
Cy of DS. 6pp.
Item 23: Will of Stevens Thomson Mason, September 27, 1815
Cy of DS. 3pp.
Item 24: Will of Armistead T. Mason, November 7, 1818
ADS. 10pp.
Dates
- Creation: 1706-1858
Creator
- From the Collection: Mason, George, 1725-1792 (Person)
- From the Collection: Mason, Ann (Person)
- From the Collection: Mason, John, 1766-1849 (Person)
- From the Collection: Mason, John Thomson, 1815-1873 (Person)
- From the Collection: Mason, Stevens Thomson, 1760-1803 (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.01 Linear Foot
Language
English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository