Correspondence, 1924-1926
Scope and Contents
Scope and Contents Letters from W.H. Power to heirs, possible heirs and lawyers concerning the estate of Charles B. Tibbets. April 14, 1924. Letter to Miss Susie B. Carson in Concord, Virginia from W.H. Power, Counselor-at-Law in Phoebus, Virginia, about the death and funeral of her Uncle, Charles B. Tibbets, April 15, 1924. Telegram to P.A. Fuller of Fullers Hotel in Phoebus, Virginia from Mrs. Virginia B. Hahn in Kansas City, Missouri acknowledging his telegram about the death of her Uncle C.B. Tibbets, April 15, 1924. Letter to P.A. Fuller, Phoebus, Virginia from Virginia Bridger Hahn about her Uncle’s death. He “should be about 95 years old” and ran away to join the army at 17 years old to fight in the Mexican War. He enlisted in Alexandria, Va.,” April 16, 1924 Letter to P.A. Fuller, Phoebus, Virginia, from W.N. Cunningham of Marshall, Virginia stating that Mrs. Cunningham, the only living relative of Mrs. Tibbetts, has been dead over 4 years, April 17, 1924. Letter to Mr. Power from Mrs. S.B. Carson of Concord Depot, Virginia about the death of Mr. Tibbetts and possible relatives, April 21, 1924. Letter to W.H. Power of Phoebus, Virginia from C.E. Callaham of Lynchburg, Virginia about possible living relatives of Mr. Tibbetts, April 22, 1924. Letter to Mr. Powers from Mrs. S.B. Carson about relatives of Mr. Tibbetts, her father’s first cousin, April 23, 1924. Letter to W.H. Power from W.N. Cunningham about his upcoming visit to Phoebus and possible heirs of Mr. Tibbetts, April 27, 1924. Letter to W.H. Powers from W.N. Cunningham stating his wife, Mae Cunningham died in 1920, leaving one son, J. Hargrave Cunningham. She was the daughter of Mrs. J. H. Stover, formerly Miss Hathie Augusta Tibbetts, sister of C.D. Tibbetts. Gives more family history, May 1, 1924. Letter to W.H. Power from W.N. Cunningham about the claim that Mrs. Hahn was a niece of Mr. Tibbetts. Old family Bible, in library at Marshall, Virginia, disproves the claim, May 2, 1924. Letter to W.H. Power from W.N. Cunningham regarding inheritance claims against Mr. Tibbetts’ estate, May 20, 1926. Letter to W.N. Cunningham of Marshall, Virginia from W.H. Power, Attorney-at-Law in Phoebus, Virginia, about insurance company premium on bond as administrator of Charles D. Tebbets, bill attached.
Dates
- Creation: 1924-1926
Creator
- From the Collection: Tibbetts, Charles D., 1827-1924 (Person)
- From the Collection: Carson, Susie B. (Person)
- From the Collection: Cunningham, W.N. (Person)
- From the Collection: Fuller, P. A. (Person)
- From the Collection: Hahn, Virginia K. (Person)
- From the Collection: Power, W. H. (Person)
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.01 Linear Foot
Language
From the File: English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository