Skip to main content

Charles D. Tibbetts Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00699

Scope and Contents

Papers of Charles D. Tibbetts who died in Phoebus, Virginia in 1924 at the age of 94 or 96.  The collection includes a few financial and personal documents and personal correspondence, but it is mostly correspondence between people involved with Tibbetts' inheritance. Tibbetts enlisted in the army in Richmond, Virginia when he was 17 years old and fought in the Mexican War.  Genealogy of the Tibbetts, Stover and Cunningham families are partially shown in the letters searching for heirs.

Dates

  • 1848-1932

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Probably born in Virginia. Died in Phoebus, Virginia. Participated in the Mexican War. Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Arrangement of Materials:

Divided by genre, then chronologically.

Custodial History:

The papers were located in the old Digges House in Mathews, Virginia.

Acquisition Information:

Gift.
Title
Guide to the Charles D. Tibbetts Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne T. Johnson, Special Collections Assistant.
Date
2008-12-09
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: