Series 2: Lloyd H. Williams and Ruth Elizabeth Williams Papers (Mss. Acc. 2015.146)
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 2015.146: This addition has not been arranged and descirbed yet. Box 2 contains a list of materials included in this series, compiled by the donor.
Contains photographs, ephemera, VHS videotapes and other material related to the Williams family of Williamsburg, Virginia, most notably Lloyd Haynes Williams and his daughter, Ruth Elizabeth Williams. Included in the collection are photographs of scenes in Colonial Williamsburg, including the Bruton Parish Church and the Governor's Palace; photographs of local organizations such as the Pulaski Club and the Rotary Club; pamphlets and booklets from Colonial Williamsburg and the city of Williamsburg; and VHS videotapes of family gatherings. The collection also contains speeches by Lloyd H. Williams for the radio from 1947-1950 and research material for his book, Shipwrecks in Virginia. A ring from the class of 1956 at James Blair High School, the first year they made class rings for the school, is also included.
Dates
- Creation: 1917-2008 and undated
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1947-1959
Creator
- From the Collection: Williams, Lloyd H. (Williams, Lloyd Haynes), 1905-1959 (Person)
- From the Collection: Williams, Ruth Elizabeth (Person)
- From the Collection: Goodrich, E. E., (Mrs.) (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 5 Linear Feet (4 record cartons. )
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository