Series 3: Images, 1931-1968
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1980.128 contains papers of and relating to James Blair, first president of the College of William and Mary. The collection contains two original manuscripts: a funeral bill by Blair dated 1701, and a sermon erroneously attributed to Blair dated 1747. The bulk of the collection consists of copies collected for research purposes, mostly in 1940-1941. Includes biographical material; extracts and copies from official records; copies of correspondence; sermons; notes on paintings of Blair and his wife owned by the College of William and Mary; notes on their graves.
Acc. 2002.073 contains minutes of the Council of Virginia from 1695, including a resolution of the Governor's Council drawn up by Governor Edmund Andros and signed by all the Council members documenting the differences between Rev. James Blair and Andros and announcing the suspension of Rev. Blair from the Council.
Dates
- Creation: 1931-1968
Creator
- From the Collection: Office of the President (Organization)
- From the Collection: Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 (Person)
- From the Collection: Blair, James, 1656-1743 (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
The collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 1.00 Linear Feet
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository