Special Collections Research Center

The John W. Rodeffer Papers are a collection of letters to John W. Rodeffer. Correspondents include family members including his mother and sister, various female friends, male friends, and others. The letters include accounts of daily life and similar information from the 1890s-1900.

Papers, 1858-1864, of the Rouzie family of Essex County, Virginia. Mostly letters, of Richard Rouzie and William Waller Rouzie written to their sister Susan M. Rouzie while they were attending Ellington Academy, Hanover County, Virginia, . and Aberdeen Academy, King and Queen County, Virginia. and while serving from Essex County in the 55th Virginia Infantry Regiment, Confederate States Army.

Two page affidavit regarding a business dispute over the sale of tobacco.

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

Accounts, 1851-1855, of Jacob A. Rush of Rush's Mill, Mt. Crawford, Rockingham County, Va.

Ledger of Jacob Rush, tanner, of Rockingham County, Virginia, 1825-1864. 137 double pages. 12 3/4 x 8 1/2.

Note:  The book also contains rough drafts of several legal papers.

See also Jacob A. Rush Papers (Mss. 39.2 R89) and [Jacob Rush?] Account Book (Mss. MsV Add151), Special Collections Research Center, Swem Library, College of William and Mary.

Letters, 1821-1822, written to Edward Augustus Russell, merchant of Petersburg, Va. by merchants in Richmond, Va. and Providence, R. I. discussing prices, shipping schedules, and economic conditions. Also includes account for a pair of card tables, a safe, china and "one Negro woman, Lilly."

Treatise on the materia medica (part 1) and the theory and practice of physic (part 2) by Bushrod Rust, physician, Upperville, Fauquier County, Virginia, circa 1807-post 1813.

Letters, 1888-1920, received by John R. Rutherfoord, an attorney in Richmond, Va. Most of the letters concern legal matters, but some are requests to endorse Rutherfoord for a judgeship in the 9th Judicial Circuit Court.

Papers, 1881-1882, of Thomas M. Rutherfoord, a tobacco processor in Richmond, Va. Includes accounts and records of laborers.

Plat book of Samuel J. Rutherfoord of Richmond, Virginia, showing property in Richmond belonging to the estate of his father, Thomas Rutherfoord, and record of deeds.

Ledger, 1887-1892, of S. A. Dunlop and Co., tanners and leatherworkers, Mt. Solon, Augusta County, Virginia.

Account books, February-May 1903, kept by a merchant at Runnymede, Virginia. S. B. Barham, Jr. was the son of Doctor S. B. Barham. He is referred to in his father's diaries as "Sid."

The papers of S.F. Bill Royall, Jr. contain a variety of personal material and ephemera, much of it related to Williamsburg, Virginia. The collection includes samples of printing from Bill Royall's press relating to Williamsburg organizations and events such as tags, calendars, posters, programs, stickers, flyers, bulletins and other items.

Ledger, 1860-1875, of S. G. Davis, physician, Amissville, Rappahannock County, Virginia, which includes remedies for consumption, rheumatism, and cholera.

Ledger, 1838-1840, of S. H. Coffman & Co., Rifesville, Rockingham County, Va., which includes a journal, 1842; invoice, 1844; and recipes for dyeing wool and cotton. The volume was later used as a commonplace book by Jacob Lineweaver and others and as a child's handwriting copybook.

Ledger, 1831-1834, of S. H. Coffman & Co., Rifesville, Rockingham County, Va. which includes personal accounts, 1873-1902, of Jacob Lineweaver, Jr.

Two ledgers, two journals and a daybook, 1802-1859, of Samuel B. Finley, merchant, of Lexington, Va. Ledger "B" (MsV Ame29) contains accounts concerning the estate of John Tate (Samuel Finley, executor); daybook (MsV Ame 31) contains an inventory , 1813, of goods put into partnership with William Shields and A. Shields and a manuscript arithmetic copybook, 1832; and ledger, 1842-1842 (MsV Ame33) contains notes, 1851-1867, concerning a fruit orchard.