Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

American Red Cross

 Organization

Found in 6 Collections and/or Records:

Martha Carter Brent Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.102
Scope and Contents The collection of Martha Carter Brent includes her scrapbook from her time as a student at the College of William and Mary as well as student handbooks (1925, 1926) and other College publications. She was commonly known as Mattie Carter as a student. The scrapbook includes news clippings, dance cards, photographs, and similar items documenting campus activities including athletics, dances, her sorority Phi Mu, other campus activities, as well as information about family and friends including...

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations.  Includes...

Thomas Nelson Page Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 P14
Scope and Contents Letters, primarily 1908-1919, from Page and his wife Florence Lathrop Field Page to her daughters Minna Field Gibson Burnaby and Florence Field Lindsay and to Bryan Lathrop and Helen Aldis Lathrop. The letters concern social life in Washington, D.C., life in Rome during World War I, diplomacy under Woodrow Wilson, and the role of a diplomat's wife. There are forty letters, 1915-1916, from Algernon Edwin Burnaby to his wife and son concerning the Gallipoli Campaign in Turkey. Individuals...

John Barton Payne Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 P29
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters and telegrams, 1920, received by John Barton Payne on the occasion of his appointment as U. S. Secretary of the Interior. Includes miscellaneous correspondence, some pertaining to his work as chairman of the American Red Cross and photographs, 1920, of Alaska.

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...

D. J. Watkins Yellow Fever Epidemic Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01425
Scope and Contents Correspondence, telegrams, bills, and reports concerning a yellow fever epidemic outbreak in the town of Macclenny, Baker County, Florida. D. J. Watkins was the mayor of that town and the papers concern his appeal and efforts to care of the hundreds affected by the illness. Correspondence and replies include those from Clara Barton, then President of the American Red Cross, headquartered in Washington, D.C.