College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae
Organization
Found in 13 Collections and/or Records:
Thomas L. Alfriend Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00269
Scope and Contents
Chiefly letters, 1861-1865, from Thomas L. Alfriend (1843-1901) Sergeant, of Company B, 15th Virginia Infantry and Parken's Battery, Alexander's Battalion, Longstreet's Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, from camps in Virginia and Tennessee to family members in Richmond, Virginia. Includes letter dated May 26, 1861 from Alfriend while stationed in Williamsburg, Virginia.The addition contains 25 typewritten pages of transcripts of letters by Jefferson Davis, James Seddon and others...
Dates:
1843-1901; Majority of material found in 1860-1865
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Alumni Association Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 80
Scope and Contents
The records of the Alumni Association of the College of William and Mary include office files, material from select Executive Secretaries, meeting minutes, publications, correspondence, and other material documenting the activities of the William & Mary Alumni Association as well as the College of William & Mary's history and alumni more generally.
Dates:
1833-2014; Majority of material found in 1950-2005
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Dabney Browne Letter to G. Southall
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.088
Scope and Contents
One letter from Dabney Browne, a professor at the College of William and Mary, to G. Southall concerning the room and board for members of the Jones family. He states the Jones' would have to sleep in a room without a fireplace and sit in the family sitting room. The charge for board would be 120 dollars each, with a tuition fee of 20 dollars.
Dates:
1838 November 1
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Denison Cole Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Crowninshield Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.099
Scope and Contents
The collection includes one letter written by Crowninshield and four letters received by him while a student at the College of William & Mary in May and June of 1804.In his May 30, 1804 letter, he writes, “The pleasing manners of this place would be enough to keep one here, but the advantages of the college, I should think, would keep me here forever.” He also discusses the theories of Sir Isaac Newton and mentions walking with the president of William & Mary, Bishop...
Dates:
1804 May, June
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates:
1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Lamb Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents
Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating...
Dates:
1835-1909
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert Hunt Land Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.012
Scope and Contents
This collection contains materials relating to Robert Hunt Land's work on the history of the College of William and Mary. It includes a published description of Land's proposed history of the college, notes and correspondence about the proposed history, and biographical information about alumni (1814-1881). It also contains correspondence between Herbert Ganter, Earl Gregg Swem, and Robert Hunt Land about Ganter's research on William and Mary at the Library of Congress.
Dates:
1938-1942
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Page-Saunders Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P15
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and papers of members of the Page and Saunders families. Includes correspondence of Margaret Lowther Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. with her daughter Lucy Burwell Page Saunders and her son-in-law Robert Saunders. The collection includes a diary, 1826, of Robert Saunders while on a trip from New York to Le Havre; published stories of Lucy Burwell Page Saunders; manuscript stories by Roberta Saunders; and correspondence of Robert Page Saunders....
Dates:
1790-1932
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.07
Scope and Contents
Series 1 (Acc. 1980.123): One box containing biographical material; engravings; lectures; addresses; publications; an article about the Gardiner Manor in New York; Tyler's application for the William and Mary presidency; testimonials; a calling card; correspondence, including a letter to Mrs. Alex S. Porter (circa 1917), possibly referring to Bound Volume no. 13.Series 2 (Acc. 1984.019):
For preservation reasons, researchers will have to access all materials in this series on...
Dates:
1888-1935
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 St9
Scope and Contents
Collection includes a lot of genealogical notes and copies of wills compiled by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs but also report cards, class notes, and letters of different Stubbs family members. An oration delivered by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs, Sr. before the Phoenix Literary Society is also included as well as his application for the professorship at William & Mary. There are letters written William Carter Stubbs while a student at William & Mary,letters of John Catlett Stubbs while...
Dates:
1789-1933
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Additional filters:
- Subject
- Correspondence 12
- College of William and Mary--History--20th century 5
- Financial records 5
- Manuscripts (document genre) 5
- Photographs 5
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 4
- Diaries 3
- Genealogy 3
- Legal documents 3
- Virginia--Genealogy 3
- Account books 2
- College of William and Mary--Students 2
- Education, Higher--Virginia--History 2
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
- Minutes 2
- Notebooks 2
- Poems 2
- Programs 2
- Publications 2
- Receipts (financial records) 2
- Scrapbooks 2
- Typescripts 2
- Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
- Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
- Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
- African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
- Agendas (administrative records) 1
- American diaries--Women authors 1
- American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
- Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
- Booklets 1
- Broadsides 1
- Buildings and Grounds 1
- Certificates 1
- Clippings (information artifacts) 1
- Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 1
- Coeducation--Virginia 1
- College of William and Mary--History--17th century 1
- College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
- Confederate States of America. Army Virginia Infantry Regiment, 15th. Company B 1
- Confederate States of America. Army. Longstreets I Corps Alexander's Battalion. Parker's Battery 1
- Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
- Diplomas 1
- Engravings (Prints) 1
- Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
- Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
- Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
- Fliers (printed matter) 1
- Fort Fisher (N.C.) 1
- Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
- Hampden-Sydney College 1
- Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
- History of the College 1
- History of the College--Reconstruction efforts after the war 1
- Homecoming 1
- Jamestown (Va.)--History 1
- Letters (correspondence) 1
- Maps 1
- Medicine--Prescriptions--19th century 1
- North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
- Orders (military records) 1
- Photography, Stereoscopic 1
- Photostats 1
- Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
- Reports 1
- Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
- Rosters 1
- Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
- Slides (photographs) 1
- Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
- Stereographs 1
- Student housing 1
- Technical reports 1
- United States Military Academy 1
- United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
- United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
- United States--Politics and Government 1
- United States--Slavery 1
- Universities and Colleges--Finance 1
- Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
- Virginia--Maps 1
- Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
- Virginia--Politics and Government 1
- Virginia. Constitutional Convention (1901-1902) 1
- Virginia. Militia. Wise Light Infantry 1
- Voting--Virginia--History 1
- Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 1
- Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 1
- Women college students 1
- Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
- World War, 1914-1918 1
- World War, 1939-1945 1
- Yellow fever--Virginia--Norfolk 1 + ∧ less
∨ more