Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

United States--American Authors

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 9 Collections and/or Records:

Jonathan Boucher Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 93 B66
Scope and Contents Correspondence of Jonathan Boucher, Anglican clergyman of Virginia, Maryland, and England. He was a prominent loyalist during the American Revolution and later a prominent figure among conservatives in the Anglican church in England. His principle correspondents in this collection include John James, James Maury, Charles Daubeny, Sir Frederick Morton Eden, William Knox, and William Stevens. The principle subjects covered by this collection include Virginia social customs and...

Roeliff Brinkerhoff Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00200
Scope and Contents Letter from Roeliff Brinkerhoff, Mansfield, Ohio, on Ohio Board of State Charities letterhead, to Mr. Miller thanking him for his friendly comments on Brinkerhoff's book, "Recollections of a Lifetime."  August 27, 1900.  Roeliff Brinkerhoff founded the Ohio State Archaeological and Historical Society.

Francis Burton Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H26
Scope and Contents Papers, 1786-1932, collected by Francis Burton Harrison. Chiefly typescripts of letters, 1786-1840, of members of the Harrison family, includes notes for The Harrisons of Skimino. This group of typescripts, letters, and notes was collected by Francis Burton Harrison for the publication of The Harrisons of Skimino edited by his brother Fairfax Harrison. Box 1 contains typescripts of Harrison family letters and a few...

James Poyntz Nelson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 N33
Scope and Contents Papers, 1866-1926, of James Poyntz Nelson. Includes letters, poems and articles as well as genealogical notes concerning the Nelson family and photographs including a photograph of Edward S. Joynes.

A. L. McLeod Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01178
Scope and Contents Letters, 1964-1966, written to Professor A. L. McLeod, Lock Haven State College, from English literary figures in response to his request concerning his publication "The Achievement of Rex Warner" (Sydney: Wentworth Press, 1965).  Writers include C. Day Lewis, John Lehmann, V.S. Pritchett, Balachandra Rajan and George Seferis.

James Poyntz Nelson Manuscript Volumes

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad121-125
Scope and Contents Manuscripts of James Poyntz Nelson, a chief engineer of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad and the Elizabethtown, Lexington and Big Sandy Railroad.  Includes diaries, a letter copy book and a personal notebook. The Nelson Family lived in Lexington, Kentucky. MsV Ad121  Pocket diary.  1883. 206 pages.  Nelson was the chief engineer of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad. MsV Ad122  Logbook used as a diary.  1886. MsV Ad123  Pocket diary.  1889. Nelson was chief...

Christian Schultz Letter Copybook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01209
Scope and Contents Letter copybook of Christian Schultz of Marietta, Ohio and Wood County, Virginia (West Virginia). Includes copies of over 200 letters relating to land speculation, family problems, and natural history. Letters are written to Lewis Cass, DeWitt Clinton, Philip Doddridge, Stephen Girard, Thomas Jefferson, George Lorillard, Jacob Lorillard, Peter Lorillard, Return Jonathan Meigs, James Monroe (on the national character), Richard Channing Moore, Christian Nestell, Robert Owen, Henry R. Schoolcraft,...

Molly Elliot Seawell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.36
Scope and Contents The papers of American writer Molly Elliot Seawell include personal diaries, correspondence, memoirs, photographs, news clippings, and other materials. Also included are photocopies of Seawell's business papers housed at the New York Public Library and at the Columbia University Library. The collection also contains other records from the Seawell family, mostly relating to Molly's aunt Maria Seawell Edwards, John T. Seawell and wife Isabella Josephine Brady, and Philip Hairston Seawell. The...

John D. Weaver Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 77 W37
Scope and Contents Collection contains genealogy of the Poulton Family, published stories, articles, book reviews, books, correspondence with family and friends and news clippings by and relating to John D. Weaver, author, novelist, biographer and West Coast editor of  "Travel and Leisure Magazine".