Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Found in 8 Collections and/or Records:
Identifier: MS 00182
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1937-1941, of Peter Isaac East, a railroad worker from Terre Haute, Indiana. Primarily includes entries related to his work for the New York Central Railroad Company. For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.
Identifier: Mss. MsV Aa4
Scope and Contents Account books containing personal accounts, 1852-1862, of A. Glass and his accounts, 1844-1859, as the administrator of the estates of Thomas H. Roberts, Joseph Cleuveures, and Benjamin Cleuveures. Also includes accounts of A. Glass with the Baltimore and West Point Steam Packet Company and the West Point Railway.
Identifier: MS 00245
Scope and Contents The George Michener Hart Collection on Moncure Robinson is a compilation of the papers, letters, photographs and other artifacts belonging or relating to the noted early American civil and railroad engineer Moncure Robinson. The collection contains correspondence, engineering data, bills, statements of accounts, calling cards, letters, photographs and other items.
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 N33
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.349
Scope and Contents Approximately 80 stereoscopic photography cards of the building of the Mt. Washington Cog Railroad in New Hampshire, photographed and published by the Kilburn Brothers, Littleton, New Hampshire. By the time the Mt. Washington Cog Railroad was completed in 1869, the Kilburn's Littleton factory was producing twelve hundred photographic cards daily and had become one of the largest such operations in the nation.
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad121-125
Scope and Contents Manuscripts of James Poyntz Nelson, a chief engineer of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad and the Elizabethtown, Lexington and Big Sandy Railroad. Includes diaries, a letter copy book and a personal notebook. The Nelson Family lived in Lexington, Kentucky. MsV Ad121 Pocket diary. 1883. 206 pages. Nelson was the chief engineer of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad. MsV Ad122 Logbook used as a diary. 1886. MsV Ad123 Pocket diary. 1889. Nelson was chief...
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.528
Scope and Contents Employee ledger, 1890-1892, of the St. Joseph & Grand Island Railway of Missouri and Nebraska. Includes dates of employment, positions for which they were hired, disciplinary records, and reasons for firing employees, among other details. Copies of disciplinary letters are often attached into the ledger with a nail.
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.006
Scope and Contents Payroll records, 1880, of the St. Joseph and Western Railroad Division of the Union Pacific Railroad. Each page specifies the department being paid (General, Locomotive, Transfer Train, Freight Train, etc.) as well as what division (Eastern or Mountain). Listed are full names of employees, occupation, pay per day and in some cases total of roll and deductions.