Cholera--United States
Subject
Subject Source: Local sources
Found in 3 Collections and/or Records:
Alexander Hamilton, Jr. Letters
Collection
Identifier: SC 01680
Scope and Contents
Four letters from Hamilton to his father, James A. Hamilton and his sister, Eliza. They are dated 10 July 1832; July 11, 1832; 9 September 1833; and 22 October 1833. Hamilton wrote the letters while a Cadet at the United States Military Academy at West Point. In a letter to his father, dated July 10, 1832, he discusses possibly sexual relationships between male Cadets as "petting" and plans to steer clear of this practice. He also mentions "pets in the Corps" who are "held in...
Dates:
July 1832-October 1833
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
S. G. Davis Ledger
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am3
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1860-1875, of S. G. Davis, physician, Amissville, Rappahannock County, Virginia, which includes remedies for consumption, rheumatism, and cholera.
Dates:
1860-1875
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Archibald Woods Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W87
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1783-1846, of Archibald Woods of Ohio County, West Virginia. The papers concern his family, the Poage family, and the Houston family, as well as his business dealings. Correspondents include Levi Barber, Daniel Call, Philip Doddridge, Chapman Johnson, Henry Lee, James Pindall, Benjamin Ruggles, Daniel Sheffey and John Tyler, Edgar Campbell Wilson, George Washington Wilson and Thomas Wilson. Subjects dealt with in the collection include banking, cholera, the Cumberland Road,...
Dates:
1777-1846; Majority of material found in 1783-1846
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center