Content Description "The Brafferton School" quilt was created by Denise Walters of the Nottoway Tribe of Virginia in May 2022. The quilt was created to commemorate the history of the Brafferton Indian School at William & Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. The school was constructed in 1723 and students from many local Virginia tribes, including the Nottoway, attended the Brafferton before and after the construction of the building. Indigenous tribes were required to pay a tax to the local government but by...

Content Description

Collection includes materials documenting the daily activities of Gamma Phi Beta (Alpha Chi Chapter). Materials include pages from a scrapbook that contain stereotypical caricatures of east Asian and Native American people as well as derogatory language regarding race, gender, sexual orientation, and ethnicity. Collection also includes photographs of culturally insensitive events held in Sorority Court.

Content Description

Contains prints of engravings depicting John Smith, Pocahontas, and Benjamin Franklin.

Scope and Contents

The stereograms in this collection represent racist attitudes of the time period and also the struggles of a minority population. Stereograms are an early form of photography which was often used for educational purposes. When a view finder is used to look at the stereograms, the images appear to be three dimensional.

Content Description Six boxes relating to Chief Oliver ”Fish Hawk” Perry's life and role as Chief Emeritus for Virginia's Nansemond Tribe, including materials from the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, National Register of History Places, NAGPRA documentation, personal photographs, archeological reports, magazine articles, personal and official correspondence, awards, resume, and assorted audiovisual materials. Also included is a copy of the Tribune Extra's "First Account of the Custer Massacre"...

Scope and Contents Three sheets of written vocabulary and phrases of the Dakota Native American language. These were notes taken by Reed while stationed with the Army at Fort Rice in the Dakota Territory. Phrases include "I am sick", "something to eat", and "I love you". There are many phrases which are left blank which may indicate that all of the phrases compiled by Reed were ones in which he desired to learn from the Native American tribes with which he interacted and communicated. There are also...

Scope and Contents The Thomasina E. Jordan collection contains the personal and professional papers of American Indian activist Thomasina E. Jordan. The collection includes awards, certificates, correspondence, newspaper articles, and photographs. The Thomasina E. Jordan Act includes federal legislation passed by the U.S. congress to acknowledge the Upper Mattaponi Tribe and its members. This act provides eligible ethnic groups services and benefits provided by the federal government to federally recognized...