Hanover County (Va.)--History--19th century
Subject
Subject Source: Local sources
Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:
Charles Howard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H83
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1865-1879, of Charles Howard, sheriff of Hanover County, Va. concerning estates for which he was administrator. Includes a memorandum book of accounts, loose accounts and legal documents concerning two lawsuits.
Dates:
1865-1879
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Gideon King Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame78
Scope and Contents
Account book, 1803-1806, with loose papers, 1839-1861, belonging to Gideon King and to Gideon King Stanley.
Dates:
1803-1861; Majority of material found in 1803-1806
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Macon Family Manuscript Volumes
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad156-160
Scope and Contents
Manuscript volumes kept by several generations of the Macon family of New Kent ["Ingleside"] and Hanover ["New Castle"] Counties, Va. including William Hartwell Macon (1759-1843), Doctor William Hartwell Macon (1819-1891) and William Hartwell Macon (1850-1918). The volumes are four ledgers concerning farming and medical practice and a diary. The earliest ledger mentions William Macon (1725-1813). In addition to members of the Macon family, individuals and subjects mentioned in...
Dates:
1782-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Newcastle-Macon Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 N43
Scope and Contents
Accounts, 1868-1889, of Doctor W. H. Macon as agent for the Newcastle estate ["Newcastle," Hanover County, Va. ?] Includes an agreement, his account sheets and accounts with farm laborers.
Dates:
1868-1889
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center