Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

American diaries--Women authors

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 16 Collections and/or Records:

Betty Movern Diary, 1947-1948

 Collection
Identifier: Mss 2007.89
Scope and Contents Diary (1947-1948) of Betty Movern detailing her extended tour of post-war Europe. She describes the trips she made with her husband and adult son with hopes of selling the manuscript for eventual publication. She records visiting Germany, Italy, Switzerland, the Netherlands, France, Luxembourg, and England. She describes a visit to Hitler's country home and meeting a German man who swam from Russian occupied East Germany to West Germany in order to obtain food for his family. Movern included...

Coral Patridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01151
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1920s-1941, of Coral Patridge of New York, New York. Includes a travel diary of a trip she took by train from New York to New Mexico in the 1920s.  Also includes 29 photographic prints, 9 of which feature New York City; some of the photographs also have descriptive information on the back.  There is also an address book, a postcard sent from Germany, and a card with the history of the name "Patridge."

Eleanor W. Perrin Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 P42
Scope and Contents Diaries; 1922-1967, of Eleanor Wormley Perrin of "Goshen," Gloucester County, Va. These forty-five diaries span nearly a half century, from 1922 to 1967, and document life in 20th century Virginia. Perrin's diaries discuss local events, female social life, national events such as wars and politics, hurricanes, the death of family and friends, and other topics. Toward the end of Perrins's life her diary entries increase in length and intimateness, often expressing loneliness and reflecting...

Sarah Anderson Jones Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D3
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1792-1793, of Sarah Anderson Jones kept in Mecklenburg County, Virginia which contains religious writings but also references to the schism in the Methodist Church between the followers of James O'Kelly and Francis Asbury.

Sarah Jones diary, 1792-1793 in Swem Library’s microforms area, 1 reel, call number BX8236 .J66

Molly Elliot Seawell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.36
Scope and Contents The papers of American writer Molly Elliot Seawell include personal diaries, correspondence, memoirs, photographs, news clippings, and other materials. Also included are photocopies of Seawell's business papers housed at the New York Public Library and at the Columbia University Library. The collection also contains other records from the Seawell family, mostly relating to Molly's aunt Maria Seawell Edwards, John T. Seawell and wife Isabella Josephine Brady, and Philip Hairston Seawell. The...

Whittle-Greene Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W61
Scope and Contents

Papers of Cloe Tyler Whittle Greene. Mostly diaries, 1855-1924, before and after her marriage to John Newport Greene. Also includes printed cards, photographs, verse, newspapers, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and prints of colonial and Civil War figures. Topics covered by the diaries include secession, Civil War, Reconstruction, travel, life in Norfolk, Virginia and marriage.