Athletics--Basketball
Subject
Subject Source: Local sources
Found in 31 Collections and/or Records:
Men's Basketball Records, 1925-2015
Collection
Identifier: UA 181.6
Scope and Contents
The collection is composed of five boxes of programs, media guides, news reports, schedules, rosters, ephemera and other material related to the men's basketball team of William & Mary. There is also a folder of material pertaining to youth basketball camps held at the college in the 1980s and 1990s. Although the men's basketball team was organized earlier, the material in this collection is derived from the year 1925 onwards with a majority of the material pertaining to the years after...
Dates:
1925-2015
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
David G. Blood Slide Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.161
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of ten color slides. Eight slides are of William & Mary's 1961 and 1964 commencement ceremonies and were taken by George Blood, David Blood's father. David Blood was in the W&M Choir and required to attend the 1961 ceremony. The remaining two slides are of the Wren building and Robertson's windmill within Colonial Williamsburg, respectively. The Wren image was taken by David Blood in 1960, and the windmill was taken by David Blood in 1981.2012...
Dates:
1960-1981
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Delay of Game: William & Mary Basketball Programs During COVID Project
Collection
Identifier: UA 404
Scope and Contents
During their 2020-2021 season, the William & Mary men’s and women’s basketball teams played amidst the COVID-19 pandemic. These oral history interviews with players and coaches document their experience with audience restrictions, quarantines, and cancellations, with constant unknowns requiring them to adapt at all times. The men’s team also discusses their racial justice initiative, “This Game is No Secret,” and the intersection of sports and social issues.
Dates:
2021
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Minge Perkins papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.325
Content Description
This collection is compiled of materials created by and referring to Minge Perkins' experience as a student and later Alumni of William & Mary.
Dates:
1910-1993
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Martha Virginia Sleet Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.037
Scope and Contents
The Martha Virginia Sleet Collection contains correspondence, photographs, and student publications collected by Martha Virginia Sleet while she was a student at William & Mary. Included in the collection are various issues of the student newspaper, The Flat Hat, an issue of The Scalper that contains information about fraternities and sororities on campus in 1925, and William & Mary football programs from the 1920s. In addition, the collection includes donations of materials that...
Dates:
1925-1936
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center