Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

United States. Navy--History--Civil War

 Subject
Subject Source: Local sources

Found in 4 Collections and/or Records:

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Robert C. DeCordy Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D29
Scope and Contents Diary, October 5-November 11, 1863, of Robert C. DeCordy, acting as 3rd assistant engineer, U. S. S. Philadelphia, while the side-wheeled steamer was serving in the Union blockade squadron near Charleston, South Carolina. The volume includes sketches of maps of Charleston, sketches of ships, and newspaper clippings relating to the siege of Charleston.

John Dickinson Ingraham Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00708
Scope and Contents Diary, 1849-1862, of John Dickinson Ingraham, a member of the United States Navy during the Civil War on the ship Narragansett. Includes information about Ingraham's experience on ships both before and during the Civil War. There are also drawings of animals in another hand at the end of the volume. There are also two letters, one written to Ingraham's father and one written to Ingraham's wife.

Stephen R. Mallory Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75 M29
Scope and Contents Includes correspondence and research papers of English professor Reginald A. Kenney relating to Stephen R. Mallory, Confederate Secretary of the Navy. Collection also contains photostats of Mallory's correspondence (location of originals unknown), a few original papers relating to Mallory and an original photograph of Mallory's daughter, Margaret Mallory Bishop (Mrs. Henry Bishop), nd.