Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Newspapers

 Subject
Subject Source: Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Found in 45 Collections and/or Records:

Virginiana: Old Homes, Churches and other Buildings

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82
Scope and Contents Photographs and some related written material on old homes, churches and other buildings in Virginia, possibly collected during the 1930s for publication in the William & Mary Quarterly.

Waterville Intelligencer Newspaper

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.170
Scope and Contents Partial edition of the September 21, 1826 Waterville Intelligencer in Waterville, Maine.  No. 19, Vol. IV.  Published by William Hastings.  Illegible "Pinkham" signature on top of newspaper.

Wellsprings of Democracy Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Scc1-MsV Scc2 O versize
Scope and Contents Two Scrapbooks, circaa. 1930-1950, entitled "Wellsprings of Democracy," which are newspaper clippings of articles on the courthouses of Virginia, written by Elwood Street.

Williamsburg Area Biographical Sketches by William T. Bryant

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1988.29
Scope and Contents Typescripts of biographical sketches, 1981-1984, of 142 citizens of the Williamsburg, Virginia area written by William "Bill" Bryant.  These profiles were originally published in the Williamsburg Advantage, a local tabloid shopper and were commissioned by Dr. Janet C. Kimbrough.

Includes an index and an introduction by Bill Bryant where he explains the beginnings of the profile series idea and how it was organized between him and the publisher.

James W. Willox Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00218
Scope and Contents Diary, 1919, of James W. Willox, a private from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania who served in the in the Mesopotamian Expeditionary Force in Iraq during World War I. Primarily contains photographs from Willox's time in Iraq, including photographs of himself, his fellow soldiers, captured Iraqi soldiers, and native Iraqis performing their daily activities in Bahgdad. There are also photographs of buildings, a wedding, and soldier from India, among many others. Many of the photographs also have a...