Skip to main content

World War, 1939-1945--United States

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 36 Collections and/or Records:

K. F. Andersen letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00208
Scope and Contents 82 letters to Geraldine Andersen mostly from her husband, K.F. (Kristian Frederick) Andersen, who went by Andy. The bulk of the letters are from World War II, but there are a few from friends in 1948 after the Andy's death.All but seven of the letters are correspondence between K.F. Andersen and his wife Geraldine M. (Worrell) Andersen when they are separated because of his Coast Guard assignments in the United States during World War II. The correspondence begins when Andy...
Dates: 1942-1948

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Dates: 1909-1966

Biase J. Velente Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00067
Overview

One letter from Biase J. Velente to Ida Lyshon postmarked May 15, 1944.  Velente served in World War II in Company A of the 38 Regiment of the 2nd Tank Battalion.  His letter is from Camp Croft, South Carolina.

Dates: Majority of material found in 1944 May 14

Paul Bilofsky Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00717
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1943, written to Paul Bilofsky, a soldier stationed at Camp Peary. Authors include Bilofsky's sister Mary as well as other friends and relatives. Letters include information about their personal life, rationing of food, events that they attended, wanting to be pen pals, and romantic messages, among others.

Dates: 1943

Carl M. Bunker Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01010
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1944-1945, written by Carl M. Bunker, a private in the US Army during World War II, to his parents in Dayton, Ohio.  For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.

Dates: 1944-1945

Cyril Buzek, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00077
Scope and Contents 154 letters, 2 postcards, and a photograph, 1945–1946.  The letters are from Cyril Buzek to his parents and sisters in Lane City, Texas.  Buzek came to Camp Peary, near Williamsburg, Virginia, in January 1945 for basic training in the Navy.  After short stints in Norfolk and Newport News, he was sent to Panama in July 1945, where he was posted at various sites.  The nearly continuous stream of letters ended in late December 1945, but there were two additional ones from Panama written in May...
Dates: 1945-1946

Charles Homer McCutchen World War II Cartoons

 Collection — Small Collections Box 124, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01764
Content Description

Fourteen satirical cartoons created by Charles Homer McCutchen, a United States Army private serving in World War II. McCutchen was a resident of Chicago, and worked after the war as a painter and a freelance artist. The cartoons in this group feature commentary on military life, as well as politics.

Content warnings for racial caricatures.

Dates: 1942 - 1944

Charlie A. Wilson and Margot Wilson Correspondence

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2010.576
Scope and Contents Contains correspondence, 1942-1945, between Charlie A. Wilson and his wife Margot Wilson.  The letters start in 1942 when Charlie first goes to training and track his trek through Europe during the War. As he is shipped overseas he and his wife  write about how life is in their new realities, the war, and changes in their own personal relationship .  Letters were shipped by V-mail, regular mail and airmail and several are stamped by the censor. There are a few newspaper clippings from the...
Dates: 1942-1945

Gertha Sykes Collins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...
Dates: 1942-1951

David and Harold Mandel Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00075
Scope and Contents

4 letters addressed to Harold Mandel from his family and girlfriend.  Harold Mandel served in World War II with the Army's Air Force 78th AAFB with Squadron C-1.   One of his brother's, David Mandel also served in the Army Air Force as an Officer (Lieutenant).  One of his letters is from Langley Air Field, Virginia.  The family was Jewish and David Mandel was held as a prisoner of war for a brief period in 1945. (source, NARA.gov)

Dates: 1945

Dodge Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.31
Scope and Contents The bulk of this collection (1942-1947) chronicles three generations of the Dodge and Hill families. The collection consists largely of correspondence and photographs documenting the Dodge and Hill families and colleagues of Henry Haskins Dodge at the Lincoln Chiropractic College of Indianapolis, Ind. The letters exchanged among Henry Haskins Dodge’s classmates suggest some of the effects of World War II on the home front including military draft and deferment, relocation, and war...
Dates: 1918-1988; Majority of material found in 1942-1947

Donald A. Anderson Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00070
Scope and Contents

One letter from Donald A. Anderson to Miss Rose Russo dated October 17, 1942.  Anderson was stationed with Platoon 825 at the Recruitment Depot of Paris Island, South Carolina with the United States Marine Corps.

Dates: 1942 October 17

Donald Ransom Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00065
Scope and Contents

One letter from Donald Ransom to his family dated October 1, 1944.  Ransom served in Company C of the 1257th Engineer's Corps, "C" Battalion in World War II.

Dates: 1944 October 1

Elizabeth Berry Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00068
Scope and Contents

One letter from Elizabeth (Betty) Berry to Private Joseph J. Dohner stationed at Fort Belvoir, Virginia postmarked October 17, 1942.

Dates: 1942 October 17

George Endres Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00074
Scope and Contents

8 letters from George Endres to and from his family and friends from 1942- 1943.  Endres served in World War II with the Army's 7th Armored Division.

Dates: 1942-1943

Gordon Barnewall Letters

 Collection — Box Small Collections Box 122
Identifier: SC 01749
Content Description 109 letters, 2 postcards, and one VMI "Hop" dance card that belonged to Gordon Barnewall, a Virginia Military Institute student during World War II. The cards and letters are all addressed to Barnewall. The senders range from his mother and father (W.G. Barnewall), to young men stationed in military training camps, and young women attending college. The topics covered in the letters include Gordon's relationships with women, his grades, health, and his impending entrance into the...
Dates: 1942-1944

Helen Rodgers Weber Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00211
Scope and Contents The collection consists of incoming correspondence for Helen Rodgers Weber, with the bulk written over a few months in 1943. The letters are mostly authored by Helen's mother Lettie, father Clarence, and sister Jean. The content reflects on daily life in Indiana during WWII. Helen, also known as Honan, marries Charles Anthony Weber in May 1943. The tight-knit family often addresses their letters to both Helen and Charles and sign each letter as a family unit. Other...
Dates: 1937-1943; Majority of material found within 1943

Henry C. Moss Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00073
Scope and Contents

Two letters from Henry C. Moss to Henry (Hank) J. Heusinkveld dated November 16, 1943 and May 6, 1944.  Moss served in World War II with the Army's 342nd Armored Field Artillery Battalion, Battery C.  He wrote both letters from Fort Sill, Oklahoma.

Dates: 1943-1944

Virginia Howell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.432
Scope and Contents Diaries and photograph album, circa 1940s, of Virginia Howell of Richmond, Virginia. Virginia Howell was married to David Edward Howell, who was in the United States Army during World War II. Includes two volumes which contain diary entries, with photographs and letters from Edward Howell attached. Diary entries include information about Edward Howell's training at Camp Lee, Virginia, as well as information about Virginia Howell's daily activities and whether she received mail from Edward....
Dates: 1940-1949

James H. Schneider Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00064
Scope and Contents

One letter from James H. Schneider to Betty Dietz dated October 13, 1945.  Schneider writes from the 29 Palms area of California.  In his letter he talks about fixing planes, missing sea duty, and taking a trip to Los Angeles.

Dates: Majority of material found in 1945 July 16

John G. Roland Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00956
Scope and Contents

Diary of John G. Roland, a soldier at the Aberdeen Proving Ground in Aberdeen, Maryland. Discusses primarily his training and his attempt to get into Officer Candidate School.

Dates: 1943

John Halko Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00076
Scope and Contents

One letter from John Halko to his friend, Zygmunt Chmielewski postmarked December 8, 1942.  Halko served in World War II in the Army Air Force.  He wrote his letter from Lincoln Air Base in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Dates: 1942 December

Richard Kidd papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00357
Content Description Personal correspondence including a letter from Richard Kidd to "Bonnie and kids" and a citation from the United States Army signed by Lt. Col., AGD, Adjutant General, Mark Amen. Photographs contained in the collection include those that depict soldiers and life during World War II. Postcards of Germany and photographs of the Statue of Liberty circa 1945 are also included. There is an accompanying essay written 2022 April 28 by Sydney Kidd Finneran titled "Propagation for...
Dates: Circa 1945

William J. Lawler Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00704
Scope and Contents Diary, 1943, kept by Private William J. Lawler while he was stationed in Atlantic City, New Jersey, Niagara Falls, New York, Tenessee, Georgia, and Denver, Colorado during World War II. Most of his entries in the diary are very detailed, and some of the entries were written by his wife, Nancy Selina. The entries record his life as a service member in the United States Army. Topics include Lawler attending basic training, details of his wife's pregnancy, attending flight school, going to...
Dates: 1943

Charles Marsh's War Board Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00256
Scope and Contents

Papers concerning the War Board and Post-War Planning Commission during World War II in Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia.

Collection was accessioned as W&M: War Board Papers.

Dates: 1940-1945