Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Dogs--History

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 5 Collections and/or Records:

Chapin-Horowitz Cynogetica Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.10
Scope and Contents The Chapin-Horowitz Cynogetica Collection includes a variety of material in various formats.

AKC Gazette, 1985-2003 on microfilm SF423 .A52 (1995- )

Howard Chapin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C365
Scope and Contents Papers, 1882-1938, of Howard M. Chapin relating to his collection of books on dogs. Includes letters and booksellers' lists of books on dogs as well as correspondence, 1882-1883, of G. W. Ballantine concerning pointer dogs imported to the United States from England. Acc. 1940.341 and 1940.342 Addition: Copy of obituary Howard M. Chapin, Providence Journal, September 19, 1940. Three page typewritten article on animal cemeteries, by Howard M. Chapin, and 23 pages of notes and...

Cleveland and Badminton Foxhounds Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01124
Scope and Contents Daybook, circa 1890s, of the Cleveland and Badminton Foxhounds of the United Kingdom. Includes descriptions of various hunts on which the dogs go, names and pedigrees of some of the dogs, accounts of money exchanged during hunts, and poems written about dogs.

Dixie Hound Kennels Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00718
Scope and Contents Letters, 1926, written to the Dixie Hound Kennels of Herrick, Illinois. Both letters are inquiries about purchasing coondogs from the Dixie Hound Kennels, one sent from Pennsylvania and the other sent from Arkansas. Dixie Hound Kennels sent at least one dog out on a 10 day trial.

Linda C. Reilly Canine Talk

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.52
Scope and Contents Copy of talk by Linda Collins Reilly entitled "The Dog in Ancient Greece--Hunter, Worker, Friend," Sept. 9, 1992, given at the opening of the Zollinger Museum for an exhibit.