Skip to main content

Teachers--Diaries

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 11 Collections and/or Records:

Sarah A. Ballard Journal

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01603
Scope and Contents This journal begins in Hartford, CT when Sarah Ballard begins her training to become a teacher. She writes almost exclusively about visiting local schools and of lectures she hears related to the teaching profession. Much of the first portion of her journal is dedicated to understanding different teaching philosophies. She details her approaches to teaching arithmetic, spelling, singing, and grammar. She also addressing religion and attending church services. Ballard gives some description...
Dates: 1850-1858

Milton G. Brubaker Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00822
Scope and Contents Diary of Milton G. Brubaker (b. 1875) for the year 1902. At the time the diary was written, 1902, Brubaker was a Mennonite school teacher in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.Brubaker begins every daily entry with a verse ("Time is the mighty leveler of all things" or "To do is better than to dream of air castles") and finishes each entry with the word "Now!"He writes about school, social activities, occurrences in the community, his courtship with Mary D. Huber and...
Dates: 1902

Diary (West Union, PA)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00904
Scope and Contents

Diary describes the life of a schoolteacher in West Union, Pa., in 1881.  There are entries for almost every day of the year and the diary also includes records of expenditures. For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.

Dates: 1881

Fanny Kean Leake Patton diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01903
Content Description Diary of American woman Fanny Kean Leake Pattaon (1867-1939) during her time with the American Episcopal Mission in Kyoto, Japan. She and her husband Rev. J. Lindsay Patton (1966-1915) worked in Japan as missionaries for fifteen years starting in the late 1880s. By the time the diary was written, they had been overseas for several years and had five children, some of whom were born in Japan. The diary includes documentation about Fanny and her husband's religious activity and travel, as well...
Dates: 1891 February 26 - 1891 June 27

Fanny Kean Leake Patton diary

 Unprocessed
Identifier: 2024.138
Dates: 1891 February 26 - 1891 June 27

Flora Inez Smith Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01753
Content Description

Four diaries written by Flora Inez Smith. Smith worked as a school teacher in Decatur County, Indiana. The diaries contain mentions of the weather, her job, daily life, and social activities. Early entries focus heavily on farm work that her brothers and father did during the day.

Content warning for derogatory language directed at Black individuals.

Dates: 1893 - 1903

Jennie Gore Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00173
Scope and Contents

Diaries, 1941 and 1962, of Jennie Gore, a teacher from Wartrace, Tennessee. Includes brief entries about her daily life, including work matters, people with which she met, and her daily activities. The 1941 diary also includes information about a road trip through Canada and the East Coast of the United States.

Dates: 1941, 1962

Joseph Dilworth Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01003
Scope and Contents

Diary of Joseph Dilworth, a Quaker schoolmaster of Chester County and Germantown, Pennsylvania. Includes detail about spiritual anguish and his battle with consumption. Also included is his reaction to the news of the burning of Washington, D.C., by British soldiers on 24 August 1814. The final entry in this diary was written by a different hand than the bulk of the diary. Also included is the flyleaf from an unidentified diary, dated 1807, as well as miscellaneous excerpts of poetry.

Dates: 1814-1815

Landon Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.190
Scope and Contents Correspondence, diaries, and papers of Thompson Hoadley Landon (1830-1917) and his son Thomas Durland Landon (1865-1934). Several of the papers and correspondence relate to the Bordentown Military Institute of Bordentown, New Jersey of which both Thompson and Thomas were part of the senior administration for several years. Series 1 of the collection contains the correspondence of Thompson H. Landon including correspondence with his father Seymour Landon (folder 1), a fellow...
Dates: 1877-1926

Margaret Newbold Thorpe's "Life in Virginia by a Yankee Teacher" and "Life in North Carolina"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01457
Scope and Contents Photostatic copy of "Life in Virginia by a Yankee Teacher", an account by a missionary school teacher, Margaret Newbold Thorpe, who taught black students at Fort Magruder and in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1866-1867. Photostatic copy of "Life in North Carolina," September 1869-1870, an account written by Margaret Newbold Thorpe Stokes about Warrenton, North Carolina. The accounts were apparently written in 1881 and 1907.The photostatic copies were likely made in 1951, when gifted...
Dates: 1951

Nelson and Daniel Gordon Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00147
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1890-1899, of Nelson and Daniel Gordon, brothers from Thorndike, Maine. Nelson Gordon was the town clerk of Thorndike, Maine, and Daniel Gordon was a school teacher who also made caskets. Nelson's diary, 1890, talks about his wife, Emma, his daily activities, his interaction with his local community, his job, among others. Daniel Gordon's diaries, 1894 and 1899, include his views on teaching school, his students, inventions that he makes, and his work making caskets...
Dates: 1890-1899